You Say Tomato, I Say Tomatillo

You Say Tomato, I Say Tomatillo

Forever now, anytime that I ever cooked anything that was of Mexican or Tex-Mex nature, I would jazz it up with a homemade pico de gallo that I learned at a restaurant (which will remain nameless) that I waited tables at years and years ago. I clearly remember that first time tossing fresh tomato, onion, lime, cilantro and jalepanos with naked hands. The memory of it still burns a little. You may be wondering why- that’s how they did it in the kitchen…while wearing latex gloves. Anyway, lesson learned, and it became my stand by- fresh, citrusy with just a hint of heat. Recently Ben and I have developed a new love for tomatillos and the wonderful verde sauce that I have been making. It all started with a trip to the grocery store shopping for the week’s menu, and there they were on sale 1 pound for a mere $1. Tomato. Tomatillo. I thought that I’d give it a whirl, and I’m so glad that I did.


8 responses

  1. Pingback: Good Stuff From Good Blogs |

  2. Pingback: Sunny Disposition… « Effortless Chic

  3. I have used tomatillos to make Indonesian green chilies sambal. Traditionally, the recipe calls for green tomato. Since I live in Canada, green tomato is not common to be sold. It turned out pretty good.

    June 11, 2011 at 3:27 am

  4. Pingback: The Life: Sunny Disposition |

  5. Pingback: sewSpun.com » Blog Archive » Day in the Kitchen

  6. Christopher

    This is one of the best tasting sauces ever!!! Christopher

    January 7, 2012 at 3:29 pm

  7. Jon

    I was about to try this out, but then I realized that the recipe is for sweet chilli sauce (#37)! Can you correct this, please? Thanks.

    September 22, 2012 at 8:26 pm

  8. Lisa

    I was also going to try this but see the wrong recipe. The right recipe would be appreciated! Thanks.

    October 12, 2012 at 12:45 am

Leave a Reply

