No B.S. – Brussel Sprouts

It’s getting to be that time of year- the season of sides. Yes, the holidays generally bring on the turkey birds and the honey hams, but those show pieces are nothing without the sides. Ben and I are pretty much in agreement that we generally get more excited about the sides during holiday dinners and get togethers, so we’re going to try to help revamp, introduce, or maybe just reintroduce some ideas that would be great additions to your holiday spread.

So, today I Googled “Most Disliked Vegetable,” and the worldwide web revealed a resounding dislike for brussel sprouts. As a child, my only recollection of brussel sprouts was lived through Kevin Arnold from The Wonder Years growing up in the turbulent social times of the 60’s sitting at the kitchen table proclaiming his disgust for the mini cabbages. I was never forced to eat brussel sprouts (actually I was never forced to eat anything- I just had a robust appetite for whatever was put in front of me). Actually, Ben introduced me to brussel sprouts just a few years ago. I have to say that I do enjoy them and feel so strongly about this easy recipe that we will change your opinion of the brussel sprout so much so that you may move this vegetable up to your top 10 vegetable list. It’s quick & easy, and it’ll look great dished next to the cranberries on your holiday plate.



3 responses

  1. Sharon Pieper

    Paul bought brussel sprouts at Dahls Sunday for Ben to fix for him next weekend!! He already liked the veggie but really likes it fixed this way!! Me Too!!

    November 23, 2010 at 1:38 pm

  2. Pam Darling

    I also like to slice and stir fry BS. I have added various things like garlic, ginger -even pine nuts and balsamic at the last. It is so different than the limp boiled things I was served as a child.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you both and Happy cooking!

    November 23, 2010 at 1:57 pm

  3. Kari

    MMM… Bacon! Anything with Bacon tastes good! I’ll definitely try this one!

    November 24, 2010 at 3:27 am

Leave a Reply

