Dinning with Diversity: Eggplant verses Chicken

There are two types of people in the world, those who eat meat and those who don’t. Contrary to popular belief, based on the fact that a majority of our recipes focus on an animal protein of sorts, we have a great admiration for vegetarians.  On a philosophical level we understand the reasons why people choose not to consume meat.  We on the other hand are not strong enough to not indulge in the occasional steak, drumstick, burger, pork chop, hot dog……this is going somewhere.  Not long ago we got together with some friends where the line was clearly drawn between the “carnivores” and the “herbivores.” It was an easy menu that we came up with- one couple brought a salad with homemade vinaigrettes & artisan breads; another came packing an apple pie ala mode (chocolate & vanilla- yeah, I said chocolate), and we threw down the main event- eggplant and chicken parmesan with a Mediterranean spin on the red sauce that we could all enjoy harmoniously.





16 responses

  1. Kari

    I wouldn’t have thought to use white wine! This sounds so delicious!

    January 31, 2010 at 9:58 pm

  2. Nancy Sturm

    I love this site. Can’t wait to try these receipes!!!!

    January 31, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    • fourfoodiesblog

      Nancy- thanks for being a part of our lives through our recipes! So glad you like it.

      January 31, 2010 at 10:41 pm

  3. tyler man

    Again looks gorgeous. I think I could almost smell it through photos.

    January 31, 2010 at 10:56 pm

  4. O it makes me hungry to see all of this yummie, looks wonderful.

    January 31, 2010 at 11:43 pm

  5. lexie

    i’ve always wanted to make my own sauce … and i think i could actually do this! another great blog!

    January 31, 2010 at 11:55 pm

  6. Kelli Bauer

    Kim and Ben- you are not helping, I’m trying to loose weight and be strong and the I see the photos of that food….AMAZING!!!!!

    February 1, 2010 at 1:19 am

  7. Kelli B

    Ben and Kim you are not helping-I’m trying to loose weight and then I see those photos and now I’m going crazy with hunger. That looks better and I know it probably tastes better then in restaurant in KC!!!!!!!! You can cook for Joe and anytime. 🙂

    February 1, 2010 at 1:25 am

  8. Wyoming St Dan

    Looks amazing – love the site!!

    February 1, 2010 at 1:40 am

  9. Melanie

    I love how you offer a creative twist to classic recipes! What I love the most is that this, like most of your recipes, use “easy” and “normal” ingredients that people like myself (who like to cook but are somewhat afraid to branching out on ingredient variety) are comfortable using and cooking with!!! Thank you!!!

    February 1, 2010 at 4:27 am

  10. Amy Liston

    Okay it’s 9 in the morning and I’m salivating over these photos! Yum! I can’t wait to attempt this. I love chicken parm but hate cooking meat! I also love how you explain the effect that each ingredient will have on the food. Thanks for sharing (c;

    February 1, 2010 at 3:08 pm

  11. I want to eat the photos. yum

    February 1, 2010 at 4:11 pm

  12. johnw

    YUM

    February 1, 2010 at 4:46 pm

  13. Steve aka DAD

    Looks great! Can’t wait to come down and have a cook off. I’ll do my special pizza for herbivors and carnivors. Will have to check out a special restuarant too, so we can relax and enjoy an evening out.

    February 1, 2010 at 5:18 pm

  14. Rob

    It takes a lot of experience and vision (you have both) to create imagery that just works and looks so natural. I just went through your portfolio site and am looking through some blog entries, and everything is so well done. Photographs like yours make me want to spend all my time getting my skills up.

    I want to ask this — at this point, would you say that a lot of your photos are “pre-composed” unconsciously or is it still a struggle with a lot of trial and error to get a result that you’re satisfied with (or maybe somewhere between the extremes)?

    Your work inspires me to create. Great job on all of it, seriously.

    February 1, 2010 at 11:56 pm

  15. Davica Walker

    This looks and sounds soooo good! Yummy!!

    February 2, 2010 at 1:08 am

Leave a Reply

