The Savory Pie

I have to tell you that I will on occasion crave something that I have never tasted before- it’s strange, but it has happened two times (that I’m aware of). Generally this is a condition that I’ve heard of while having a having a bun in the oven- not the case here- just a random unsolicited food craving. The first craving was for shepherd’s pie- nothing too unusual about this. I like meat. I like potatoes, carrots, onions, and peas, so this wasn’t a too farfetched foodie desire. Ben on the other hand was a bit skeptical- nothing against the components of the dish, but as he put it, he’d had “a bad experience.” I imagine his experience was similar to the first time that I “experienced” vodka- not good- not good for three days, and understood his noncommittal interest in the suggestion for dinner. I take great satisfaction in turning one’s taste buds around, and that’s exactly what I did to Ben with this tasty, wholesome meat pie.


8 responses

  1. Kari

    Another great blog! When’s the book coming out?! đŸ™‚

    January 25, 2010 at 3:46 am

  2. Kevin

    Great Blog! Writing is outstanding and the pictures are unbelievable. There are a lot of people in the restaurant business that could learn a lot from this (and photographers for that matter).

    Thanks for the email and it was great to see you guys the other night.

    Kevin

    Oh yeah, I hope it’s ok but I’m going to post a link to it on facebook.

    January 25, 2010 at 9:23 pm

  3. prairynation

    Strange, Kim. I made Shepard’s Pie over the holiday break. . . having never had one before, but having a hankering nonetheless. Listen, friends, the photography and writing here are spectacular!

    January 25, 2010 at 10:24 pm

  4. johnwaite

    this looks fantastic we are going to try it!

    January 29, 2010 at 2:36 pm

  5. I see this blog exploding in the near future!

    February 5, 2010 at 8:48 pm

  6. Kari

    I made this tonight. It tasted awesome! I can’t wait to eat the left overs!

    February 20, 2010 at 4:49 am

    • fourfoodiesblog

      So glad that you gave this recipe a whirl and liked it. it’s a great one for feed family & friends!

      February 20, 2010 at 5:15 pm

  7. karik24@gmail.com

    Making this tonight…. mmmmm yum!

    January 24, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Leave a Reply

