Off to the Farmers’ Market

One of the best things to do in the city on the weekends is to hit up the farmers’ market. Hands down it is the best place to pick up fresh produce brought to the city from local farmers with their fresh harvests consisting of peaches and cream corn, heirloom tomatoes, fresh herbs, potatoes, onions, garlic, squash, peaches, watermelon, fresh baked breads and cookies. It is a place of inspiration with the historic background of the River Market itself, the cityscape, the live entertainment, and the stimulation of all five senses- no sixth sense at work here. We took off for the market on a mission- to showcase the goodies that can be gotten from the venders that travel from far and wide. The finds inspired a hearty meal that all meataterians can appreciate with a spin on the traditional meat and potato dish- bison strips with au gratin potatoes, grilled asparagus, and fresh tomato soup.

“local buffalo provided by”   KC Buffalo Co

14 responses

  1. Teri Craig

    Love it! My stomach is growling just looking at this:) Two perfect cozy recipes for the fall season.

    October 27, 2009 at 3:06 pm

  2. Teri Craig

    Sorry, I meant to say four cozy recipes….Yum!

    October 27, 2009 at 3:07 pm

  3. lexie

    you guys are seriously too cute. does ben always open the door for you like that or is he showing off for the camera?? 😉

    October 27, 2009 at 6:46 pm

  4. Steve

    Your video was really sweet. Loved every second of it as it was very well coreographed. You guys should have your own TV cooking show. Oliver doing the clean up was a neat ending. Loved it!!

    October 27, 2009 at 7:49 pm

  5. john

    i like how often Kim claps with joy. 🙂

    October 28, 2009 at 1:13 am

  6. Sharon

    I love your videos!! I am so proud of the work you do!!

    October 28, 2009 at 12:01 pm

  7. Karen K

    O I am ready to come and visit you two for dinner. How yummie everyting looks. We loved it. The two of you are so cute together.

    October 28, 2009 at 10:28 pm

  8. Kerstin

    Love your ‘going to the market’ video!

    October 31, 2009 at 5:12 am

  9. Carole P.

    I think this is great and everything looks sooo delicious!

    October 31, 2009 at 3:50 pm

  10. Jon K

    Dang it! Why is it the dogs always get the leftovers rather than the charming next door neighbor? Hmm? Another sweet and delicious video. Love the music choice!

    November 2, 2009 at 7:10 pm

  11. oh my! first it made me miss KC!!!!!
    that was a great video – that food looks amazing!

    November 5, 2009 at 5:12 pm

  12. Melanie Pethtel

    Please. Can I please move in with you guys??? Oh my gosh, this was awesome!!! I LOVE that you not only showed how fun it is to cook, but you INCLUDED THE RECIPE!!!! The entire time I was watching it, I was thinking, “Hey, I wonder what that is?” and vualah! Awesome guys..purely awesome. Can I post your Farmer’s Market clip on my Facebook???

    November 12, 2009 at 10:47 pm

  13. Hey,
    That guy on the right in the dinner group video for December looked very familiar! You can invite me any time… any time at all – even if I’m not hungry!

    January 10, 2010 at 12:03 am

  14. Mom and Pop Morton

    Looking good! I never tire of your recipes!

    January 21, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Leave a Reply

